Smart Cycling Classes

The Smart Cycling Program is a great opportunity to learn how to ride your bike safely! The program is offered in 2 sessions. A 3 hr Classroom Session orients you to best cycling practices, followed by a ~6 hr Road Session where you put what you learned in the classroom to practice. The curriculum is certified by the League of American Bicyclists (LAB) and taught across the USA. Your instructors have been certified by the LAB to teach Smart Cycling.

The Smart Cycling Classroom Session I covers bicycling and the law, crashes and how to avoid them, as well as how to drive your bike safely in a variety of road, traffic, and weather conditions day or night. Your instructors have extensive commuting, touring, group and club riding experience. This session is a pre-requisite for the Smart Cycling Road Session II.

The Smart Cycling Road Session II is for students who have completed the Classroom Session I. It includes (1) parking lot drills where you will increase your bike handling skills and learn some emergency maneuvers to avoid motor vehicle collisions and (2) riding on a variety of local streets and bike paths while practicing proper lane positioning and performing safe and legal turning maneuvers.
Quick StopWeave

2017 Smart Cycling Class Schedule and Registration Links

Smart Cycling is taught by the SD County Bike Coalition monthly and alternates between venues in Oceanside and Mira Mesa. Other classes are scheduled as needed. Currently the Oceanside classes are offered free courtesy of a grant from the City of Oceanside and include a lunch during the road session. The Solana Beach sessions in May are also offered free through a SANDAG GoByBike grant. The Mira Mesa classroom session at Qualcomm requires a nominal fee of $25 that also entitles you to a SD County Bike Coalition Membership upon graduation. Click on date links for more info and to register.

Mira Mesa Classroom  Tue Aug 1: 6-9pm  Road Sat Aug 5: 9am-3pm
Carlsbad Classroom  Mon Sept 18: 6-9pm  Road Sat Sept 23: 9am-3pm
Oceanside Classroom Fri Sep 8: 6-9pm   Road Sat Sep 16: 9am-3:30pm
Mira Mesa Classroom  Tue Oct 3: 6-9pm  Road Sat Oct 7: 9am-3pm

City Heights Classroom Monday, Nov 6 6-9 pm Road Sat Nov 11 9am-2:30pm

Oceanside Classroom Mon Nov 13: 6-9pm   Road Sat Nov 18: 9am-3:30pm
Mira Mesa Classroom  Tue Dec 5: 6-9pm  Road Sat Dec 9: 9am-3pm